The British Virgin Islands Financial Services Commission (the “Commission”) announces six new Commissioners to its Board. The new members of the Board of Commissioners were appointed by Cabinet effective 14 December 2020 as required by Section 5(2) of the Financial Services Commission Act, 2001 (the “Act”).

The newly appointed Commissioners and their appointment terms are:

Mrs Kharid Fraser, Deputy Chair (2020-2023)

Ms Joanna Boyd (2020–2022)

Mr Paul Carty (2020–2023)

Mr Melvin Stoutt (2020–2023)

Mr Ramnarine Mungroo, External Commissioner (2020-2023); and

Mr William Gilmore, External Commissioner (2020–2023)

Mr Robin Gaul will continue to serve as the Board’s Chairman, and the Commission’s new Managing Director/CEO Kenneth Baker will serve as a Board member.

Speaking on the appointments of the new Commissioners, returning Chairman Gaul commented, “I am personally delighted to welcome our new Board members. Their blended experience adds diverse expertise and insight to the Commission’s work, and I look forward to serving with them in the coming year. I also would like to express my sincere gratitude and appreciation to the members of the Commission’s Board who have recently retired and recognise their valuable contributions during their years in office.”

The newly appointed Commissioners replace previous Commissioners Jonathan Fiechter, Ian Smith, Carleen A. Romney, Carl Hiralal, Denise Reovan and Andrew Bickerton, whose appointments to the Board expired.

The Commission is an autonomous agency responsible for regulating and supervising financial services conducted in and from within the Territory.