34 persons from the territory are now British Citizens after registering for the status.

The individuals were previously naturalised as British Overseas Territories Citizens and according to the British Nationality Act, such persons after May 21, 2002, can apply to the United Kingdom Government to be registered as British Citizens.

A ceremony was held at Government House recently to officially recognise the individuals as British Citizens after reciting the Oath of Allegiance to His Majesty the King, as well as the Pledge of Loyalty to the United Kingdom.

Speaking on the occasion, Governor His Excellency John Rankin congratulated the individuals.

He said, “You have shown your commitment to the United Kingdom, your knowledge of its history, its institutions, and its language. There are already strong links between the United Kingdom, and the British Virgin Islands, you are now part of those links.”

Registrar General, Mrs. Tashi O’Flaherty-Maduro also congratulated the new citizens and reminded them of their new responsibilities, which include representing the United Kingdom favourably in their conduct, speech and actions.

The 34 new British citizens are:

Aftab Alli

Eartha Lorraine Barker

Symarj Anthony Bobb

Raymond Alroy Caton

Akada Kennisha Charles

Ivin Davis

Kimberlee Casandra Bailey-Francis

Alaire Chrys-Daveen Khan Frazer

Rachael Rebecca Rodriguez Frazer

Leisha Ann Joyce Frett

Mignolia Lopez De George

Shibon Avalyn Guy

T’sa Lovia James Hodge

Tashel Latisha Martin-Jackson

Emerline Victoria Jennings

Abigail Aghogho Joseph

Gary Bernard Joshua

Nerissa Nina Lindie

Erlina Andretha Matthews

Nadia Maria Preciosa Menezes

Asma Muhammad

Darren Darian Muhammad

Elizabeth Mylan

Richard Naraine

Seema Kamalpatie Naraine

Margaret Olivia Paul

Veronica Viola Prince

Latreesha Marceda Rogers

Carlos Septus

Hannah Singh

Cherry-Ann Linda Cynthia George-Smith

Raphael Eric Stoll

Daniela Renee De Leon Vanterpool

Levon Themba Ayodaily Williams