Yesterday May 10th, 2022 during a national address Prime Minister of the Federation of St. Kitts and Nevis Dr. Timothy Harris fired 6 rebellious ministers, appointed a new Deputy Prime Minister and dissolved the parliament giving way for elections.

Harris Tuesday said he had asked the Governor General, Samuel Weymouth Tapley Seaton, to dissolve Parliament with immediate effect after announcing the dismissal of several ministers, including his deputy, Shawn Richards and Nevis Premier, Mark Brantley along with Lindsay Grant, Jonel Powell, Alexis Jeffers and Eric Evelyn.

In the highly anticipated radio and television broadcast, Harris, who was due to have faced a motion of no confidence that had been submitted by six members of the coalition Team Unity government, said that he would soon announce the date for the general election.

“I have confidence in the people of St Kitts-Nevis and I strongly believe in their right to choose their representatives in free and fair general elections. The time for decision making is at hand. Accordingly, I have asked the Governor General to dissolve the Parliament of St Kitts-Nevis effective today, May 10, 2022.

“I will advise you when general elections will be held,” he added.