Tourist Board Pillars and TCP Sandflies opened the 2023 Terrance “Chino” Chinnery Industrial Softball League with victories.

Playing game 1 against Republic Bank Blue Thunders on Wednesday, May 10, the Tourist Board Pillars eased to victory, earning 12 runs to Republic’s 0.

For the Tourist Board, Selwyn Dawson went 2 from 3 with a homerun, 1 run-batted-in and two runs scored, Kennard Dawson 2 from 3 with 2 run-batted-in and 2 runs scored and Raquel Woods 2 from 3 with 1 run-batted-in.

In game 2, TCP Sandflies edged Education Warriors 6 runs to 5.

Top players for the winning team included Jomoiri Dagou who went 1 from 2 with two runs scored, Ramon George 1 from 2 with 1-run-batted-in and a run scored and Deyli Castro who went 1 from 2 with a double and 1 run scored.

Notable performances from Education Warriors came from Jayque Hopkins who went 2 from 3 with a double and 1 run scored, Jeremy Penn who had 2 from 3 with a homerun, 3 runs-batted-in and 1 run scored and Shamica Glasgow who went 1 from 2 with 1 run-batted-in.

Prior to the commencement of the two games an opening ceremony was held to kick off the second year of the tournament.

President of the Virgin Islands Softball/Baseball Association Rhodni Skelton first paid respect to the late Terrence “Chinno” Chinnery by taking a moment of silence for the late softball legend.

President Skelton also thanked the Department of Youth Affairs and Sports for their continued support in developing softball in the territory.

He also stressed on the need to ensure that the younger generation is involved in the sport for continuity to occur.

Meanwhile, District Four Elect and Acting Minister for Sports Hon. Luce Hodge-Smith also commended the Department of Youth Affairs and Sports for putting the league together.

She also thanked them for recognising the late Terrence “Chinno” Chinnery in naming the league after the softball legend.

The tournament will continue with games on Monday, May 15.

Harneys Hitters will play TMF Bombers in the first game at 6:00 p.m., at 7:00 p.m. Republic Bank Blue Thunder will face Moorings Sea Rangers and the final game will see FSC Regulators taking on HLSCC Stingrays at 8:00 p.m.